Home / Sports/ New ARASL office bearers

New ARASL office bearers

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Thursday, 13 September 2018 00:00


After presenting his report, Outgoing ARASL President Rohan Fernando invited the three Independent members of the Election Commission, which was appointed by the ARASL, to conduct the election process.

The Election Commission comprised the Representative from the Ministry of Sports Subani Udawathe, Maj. Gen. (Rtd) Palitha Fernando (Vice President of the NOC and President of the Athletic Federation) and Senaka De Saram, an eminent Lawyer and Member of the Selection Committee of the ARASL.

The following were elected uncontested as office bearers of the Amateur Rowing Association of Sri Lanka for a period of two years:

  • President: Rohan Fernando (re-elected) Colombo Rowing Club
  • Vice Presidents: Sithira Wickremasekera – Bolgoda Lake Rowing Club; Commander Chaminda Wijesiri – Sri Lanka Navy
  • Secretary: Dimuth Gunawardena (re-elected) Colombo Rowing Club
  • Asst. Secretary: Reshane Fernando – Asian International School
  • Treasurer: Damith Subasinghe (re-elected) Colombo Rowing Club
  • Asst. Treasurer: No nominations were received
  • Senior Committee Member to serve on the Executive Committee – proposed from the
  • Chair by the President – Deva Henry

Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Wounding the social psyche

Friday, 19 April 2019

In this article, I intend to discuss the serious wounds inflicted on the psyche of Sri Lankan society, which have not received adequate attention, but need immediate cure, for they might develop into a dangerous cancer if not treated without further

No more stones to break Sri Lankan bones

Friday, 19 April 2019

Trial by fire is not a new ordeal to Christian community. It predates Notre Dame and Nazism by millennia. In fact, a decade or so before Nero torched believers to light Roman avenues, Jewish religious leaders put Jesus-followers to the test as the Ch

What 5G could be to Game of Thrones (and vice versa)

Friday, 19 April 2019

We will be hearing a lot about these two seemingly unrelated topics this month. In a hurriedly but meticulously organised event, Dialog Axiata recently demonstrated 5G applications for the first time in South Asia. 5G will be commercially available

On time – Only for a week! A must-change!

Thursday, 18 April 2019

We are in April and the month where we witness the declaration of a new year as per our traditional practice. It is that period of time when a huge majority of our population, which certainly can be counted in millions, intends to act in unison and q

Columnists More