‘Win Together’: The spirit of LPL Theme Song

Thursday, 29 October 2020 00:21 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • ‘It revolves around the vibrant atmosphere cricket brings to Sri Lanka’     

The idea behind the theme song for Lanka Premier League (LPL) revolves around the vibrant atmosphere cricket brings to Sri Lanka. For Sri Lankans, cricket is not only about the players on field, it is also about the fans who empowers the players to bring on the fight to the field by their never ending exuberance on the stands.

The LPL theme song and music has been produced, composed and sung by Sri Lankan pop duo Bathiya and Santhush (BNS) together with their spectacular team of Saregama Music. Chrishan e and Santhush Weeraman too assisted in the composition. Globally recognised ADK is featured together with young singer Roy Jackson on the Tamil vocals. The English version features young singer and composer Sheaam Dean. Randhir Withana has done the lyrics for the English version while Yohan Abeykoon wrote the Sinhala rendition. ADK himself teamed up with KC Prakash for the Tamil lyrics.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) VP and LPL Tournament Director Ravin Wickramaratne said: “BNS has done a wonderful job bringing out the spirit of cricket in the island through its music. I am sure the fans will like it and they will associate brand LPL by this beautiful rendition.”

“It was an honour for us to compose the theme song for the Lanka Premier League, which is our own global brand of cricket. We congratulate Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) and IPG for bringing this unique experience to our island nation,” BNS said.

Dubai-based promoters, IPG CEO Anil Mohan said: “LPL is not just about cricket, it is about the culture, it is about the people here and their wonderful spirit. I am extremely thankful to BNS for coming up with this wonderful composition which encapsulates the essential features of LPL succinctly.”

The Lanka Premier League is scheduled to be played from 21 November to 13 December at two venues – Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium (MRICS) in Hambantota and Pallekele International Cricket Stadium (PICS) in Kandy.  

In the LPL, five franchisee teams, named after Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna, will compete in 23 matches over a 15-day period for the title. 

Colombo will take on Galle in the opening match in Hambantota on 21 November. The match will start at 7.30 p.m. after the opening ceremony which will be held from 3.30 p.m. onwards. The final will be played on 13 December with 14 December as a reserve day. 

The two semi-finals and the final will be played in Kandy. A galaxy of global stars which includes Chris Gayle, Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Shoaib Malik, Carlos Braithwaite, Samit Patel, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Liam Plunkett and many more will be taking part in the 15-day extravaganza.