Home / News/ President appoints 5-memeber Delimitation Committee

President appoints 5-memeber Delimitation Committee

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Friday, 6 October 2017 00:00

President Maithripala Sirisena has appointed a five-member Delimitation Committee in keeping with the provisions of the Provincial Councils Elections (Amendment) Act which was passed by Parliament last month.

The five-member committee comprises K. Thavalingam (Chairman), Prof. S.H. Hasbullah, Dr. (Mrs.) Anila Dias Bandaranaike, P.M. Sriwardena and Sangaran Vijayasanthiran.

The committee is tasked with dividing each administrative district into such a number of electorates as corresponds to 50% of the total number of members to be elected from such an administrative district to a provincial council. 

Each electorate within an administrative district will be entitled to directly return one or more members, as the case may be, to a provincial council.

The committee has four months to submit a report.


Share This Article


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Craving a world with free migration of Homo sapiens

Monday, 18 June 2018

During the discussion time following the presentation of a paper by former diplomat Tamara Kunanayakam on the invasion of Sri Lanka’s economic policymaking by neoliberal economic thinkers two weeks ago, Colombo University’s economics don Lalithas

Sigmoid Curve and Sri Lanka: Significant signals

Monday, 18 June 2018

Sri Lanka, often named as the ‘Wonder of Asia,’ has many citizens wondering what is going on.

Refuse and recuse in Cloud-Cuckoo-Land

Friday, 15 June 2018

I had a dream. That there were monsters ruling the land in the disguise of being military champions. But then some knights in slightly tarnished armour rode to the nation’s defence and liberated us from our saviours. And all was well again. At leas

Floods, drought and disasters

Thursday, 14 June 2018

The Yahapalana Government has been singularly unfortunate in having to face many natural and manmade disasters during their regime.Almost every year many citizens have to undergo the consequences of floods in certain parts of the country whereas ther

Columnists More