Home / News/ Members appointed to PSC for communal and ethnic harmony

Members appointed to PSC for communal and ethnic harmony

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Monday, 10 September 2018 01:39


By Skandha Gunasekara

The members of the Parliamentary Select Committee to make recommendations on ensuring communal and ethnic harmony were appointed during last week’s parliamentary sessions. 

Accordingly, Parliament Deputy Speaker Ananda Kumarasiri in Parliament last Friday announced that Speaker Karu Jayasuriya would be heading the Parliamentary Select Committee.

The committee also includes Deputy Speaker Kumarasiri, Leader of the Opposition R. Sampanthan along with MPs Rauff Hakeem, D.M. Swaminathan, Susil Premajayantha, Dinesh Gunawardena, C.B. Ratnayake, Vjitha Herath, Douglas Devananda, Selvam Adaikkalanathan, Gamini Jayawickrama Perera, Gayantha Karunathilaka, Mano Ganesan, Dr. Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe, Ali Zahir Mawlana, John Amaratunga, Thalatha Atukorale and Ranjith Madduma Bandara. 

The Select Committee was appointed following a motion which was signed and presented to Parliament by 18 MPs including MPs Ananda Kumarasiri, Lakshman Kiriella, Karunathilaka, Thalatha Atukorale, Ruwan Wijewardene, Velu Kumar, Bandara, M.A. Sumanthiran, Adaikkalanathan, Douglas Devananda, D.M. Swaminathan, Lucky Jayawardana, Hakeem, Dr. Rajapakshe, Ganesan, Rajavarothiam Sampanthan, A.D. Susil Premajayantha and John Amaratunga. 

The motion was passed in Parliament last Thursday (6) and the Committee was appointed on Friday (7). The motion points out the recent communal unrest that occurred in the Kandy District earlier this year and also mentions the ethnic violence that took place in the Beruwala District in 2014.

According to the motion, the Select Committee is tasked with studying and giving recommendations on “preventing the propagation of defamatory opinions/opinions that undermine national harmony or engagement in such activities and the necessity of taking firm legal action against individuals who engage in such activities; i.e. to discuss and decide on the suitability of including hate speech as a crime in the Penal Code.”

The motion also states that the “Committee will submit its report within six months of its first sitting or such other or further time period as Parliament may grant.”

Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Our Cricket Board simply cannot deliver – why not they all quit honourably?

Tuesday, 18 June 2019

“It is necessary, therefore, for the Government to pay serious attention to the doings of Sri Lanka Cricket [board] and take immediate action to lift their game for the progress of our glorious game.” Question for Sri Lanka Cricket (board) Sri La

Yesterday Tamils, today Muslims and tomorrow who?

Tuesday, 18 June 2019

From the time of S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike’s election victory in 1956, one and only one issue had dominated political party campaigns in this country; and that was communalism. The Tamil community was the main focus of these campaigns for over 50 years

Those who go by social proof are easy prey to crafty schemers

Monday, 17 June 2019

Going after social proof Swiss writer and novelist, Rolf Dobelli, in one of the essays in his 2013 book ‘The Art of Thinking Clearly’, has given a fine warning to his readers. He has warned against going by ‘social proof’ or ‘majority view

Poson ponderings on positional power: ‘Authority vested’ vs. ‘authority wasted’

Monday, 17 June 2019

We witnessed a serene Poson Poya, in a far more improved security setting in Sri Lanka. Whilst the Sri Lankan life slowly returning to normal, political fronts do not appear to show the same. Has the political power become the people ‘pava’ (sin)

Columnists More