Debate on Political Victimisation Comm. Report in Parliament this week

Monday, 5 April 2021 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • 2 days allocated for debate on controversial Commission report
  • Several Opp. MPs named in report as having acted against Constitution
  • Easter Sunday Comm. report debate to wind up this week
  • Full day allocated for MPs Question Time


Parliament will sit five days this week with two days allocated to debate the report of the Presidential Commission of Inquiry that looked into political victimisation under the previous regime.

The debate will take place on 8 and 9 March.

The Commission has named several Opposition MPs and former MPs as having acted in contravention of the Constitution during the 2015-2019 Yahapalanaya Government and recommended action against them. 

These include MPs Patali Champika Ranawaka, Rauff Hakeem, M.A. Sumanthiran, Sarath Fonseka, Anura Kumara Dissanayake as well as former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and former Ministers Malik Samarawickrama and Mangala Samaraweera.

Meanwhile the last day of the adjournment debate on the final report of the Presidential Commission of Inquiry that inquired into the Easter Sunday attacks will also be taken up this week. 

Parliament business this week also includes one day to debate three regulations under the Imports and Exports (Control) Act, two orders under the Strategic Development Projects Act, and a Resolution for the Revision of Salary and Allowances of the Director-General of the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption.

The entirety of today has been allocated for Question Time to clear the backlog of questions that have been handed in by both Opposition and Government MPs, officials said.

A motion for the appointment of the Select Committee of Parliament to identify appropriate reforms of election laws and the electoral system and to recommend necessary amendments is scheduled to be moved in Parliament will also be presented to the House this week, the Secretary-General of Parliament said.