Home / News/ Commemoration of 70th anniversary of first Parliament of democratic Sri Lanka today

Commemoration of 70th anniversary of first Parliament of democratic Sri Lanka today

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Tuesday, 3 October 2017 00:12

By Ashwin Hemmathagama – Our Lobby Correspondent

A special sitting will be held today at 2.30 p.m. in Parliament to commemorate the 70th anniversary of the first Parliament of an independent Sri Lanka.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and Leader of the Opposition in Parliament Rajavarothiam Sampanthan are expected to jointly move a motion opening the floor for a debate to celebrate 70 years of uninterrupted parliamentary democracy, which is established by the oldest universal franchise system in Asia. 

The ceremonial sitting will be graced by the speakers of the Lok Sabha of India, the Jatiya Sangsad of Bangladesh, the Parliament of Bhutan, the Parliament of Afghanistan, the Parliament of Maldives and the Parliament of Nepal. According to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, the presence of the Speaker of Pakistan is prevented due to unavoidable circumstances.

“Parliament takes the country forward despite various obstacles and difficulties. We shouldn’t forget the loss of lives and damage to property as a result of the two failed military coups in 1962 January and 1966, the two local insurgencies in 1971 and 1988, and the three decades of terrorism. I extend my gratitude to all political leaders who contributed to maintain parliamentary democracy. We shouldn’t forget parliamentary supremacy and the respect and responsibilities of both members as well as the voters,” stated Speaker Jayasuriya yesterday, issuing a media statement setting stage for today’s event.

The Parliament of Ceylon met for the first time on 14 October 1947 with Sir Alfred Francis Molamure serving as the Speaker. The membership was determined by the results of the 19-day-long General Election held between 23 August and 20 September 1947. The duration of the first Parliament was limited to four years and five months and was dissolved on 8 April 1952. 

The first session of the first Parliament was opened by Sir Henry Monek-Mason Moore, Governor of Ceylon. The second session, which was the first after independence, was opened by the Duke of Gloucester on 10 February 1948. The third session was summoned on 12 July 1949 with Lord Soulbury’s first speech from the Throne to both Houses of Parliament after he was appointed Governor-General. The fourth and the fifth sessions of the first Parliament were summoned on 20 June 1950 and 20 June 1951 respectively.

The United National Party, Lanka Sama Samaja Party, Bolshevik Leninist Party, Communist Party, Labour Party, All Ceylon Tamil Congress, Ceylon Indian Congress, United Lanka Congress, Swaraj Party and a group of independents contested the 1947 elections for 95 seats. Winning 39.81% of the total votes, reaching 751,432 votes, the United National Party won 42 seats, the majority, and formed a Government selecting D.S. Senanayake as the first Prime Minister. Mrs. Florence Senanayake, Mrs. Kusumsiri Gunawardena and Mrs. Tamara Kumari Illangaratne were the first female members of the first Parliament.

Since 1947 October the sessions were held at the old Parliament building at Galle Face before being moved to the new parliamentary complex in Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte in 1982. (AH)

Share This Article


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

In the desert of Tamil films, actor Sivaji Ganesan was an oasis

Saturday, 22 September 2018

‘Indian Film,’ first published in 1963 and co-authored by former Columbia University Professor Erik Barnouw and his student Dr. Subrahmanyam Krishnaswamy, is considered a seminal study of the evolution and growth of Indian cinema. The book is cit

Imran may turn blind eye to blasphemy law and persecution of Ahmadiyyas

Saturday, 22 September 2018

There are clear signs that Pakistan’s freshly minted Prime Minister, Imran Khan, will make a sincere effort to reduce corruption and maladministration in the domestic sphere. In foreign affairs he is likely to make a brave attempt to mend fences wi

The rate of exchange, capital flight and the Central Bank

Friday, 21 September 2018

The Central Bank (CBSL) exists for the sole purpose of price stability. Its controls on the financial system and monetary policy exist to maintain price stability. As put forth many times by the Governor, the failing of the CBSL to control inflation

Red flag over the Sri Lankan Navy

Friday, 21 September 2018

Shocking story Rusiripala, a former banker in Sri Lanka, who has taken to writing in Daily FT, is perturbed by the red flag I have raised (Daily FT article 18 September) over the shocking charge that our Navy had operated a ransom gang that had abduc

Columnists More