Home / News/ Appointments made to Parliament Committees

Appointments made to Parliament Committees

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Thursday, 10 January 2019 02:05


By Ashwin Hemmathagama

Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees J.M. Ananda Kumarasiri yesterday announced the appointment of members to serve in five different committees: Committee on Standing Orders, Committee on Public Accounts (COPA), Committee on Privileges and Code of Conduct of MPs, Finance Committee, and the House Committee.

Members appointed to serve in the Committee on Standing Orders as per Standing Order 116 include:Foreign Affairs Minister Tilak Marapana;Digital Infrastructure and Information Technology Minister (Non-Cabinet)Ajith P Perera; United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) MPs Chamal Rajapaksa and Chandima Weerakkody; Illankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi (ITAK) MP S. Shritharan; and United National Party (UNP) MP Dr. Jayampathy Wickramaratne.

New Members appointed to the House Committee as per the Standing Order 117 (1) are:Tourism Development State Minister Ranjith Aluvihare; UPFA MPs Thilanga Sumathipala and Kanchana Wijesekera; JVP MP Nihal Galappaththi; ITAK MP Seeniththamby Yoheswaran;and UNP MPs K.K. Piyadasa,  Velu Kumar, Ishak Rahuman, and Hirunika Premachandra.

Members appointed to serve in the Committee on Privileges and Code of Conduct of MPs as per Standing Order 118 (1) include:Lands and Parliamentary Reforms Minister and Chief Government Whip Gayantha Karunatileka; Foreign Affairs Minister Tilak Marapana;Public Administration & Disaster Management Minister R. M. Ranjith Madduma Bandara;National Integration, Official Languages, Social Progress, and Hindu Religious Affairs Minister Mano Ganesan;Digital Infrastructure and Information Technology Minister (Non-Cabinet)Ajith P Perera; UPFA MPs A.D. Susil Premajayantha, Sriyani Wijewickrama, and Vidura Wickramanayaka; ITAK MP E. Saravanapavan; and UNP MP Mujibur Rahuman.

New Members appointed to the Committee on Public Accounts (CoPA) as per the Standing Order 119 (1) are:National Policies and Economic Affairs State Minister Niroshan Perera; Deputy Industry & Commerce Minister Buddhika Pathirana; UPFA MPs Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Duminda Dissanayake, Rohitha Abeygunawardana, Udaya Prabath Gammanpila, and Lasantha Alagiyawanna; ITAK MP S. Shritharan; UNP MPs Palitha Range Bandara, Thushara Indunil Amarasena, Chandima Gamage, Dr. Kavinda Heshan Jayawardana, Hirunika Premachandra, and Bandula Lal Bandarigoda; and JVP MP Dr. Nalinda Jayathissa.

Members appointed to serve in the Finance Committee as per Standing Order 121 include: UPFA MPs A.D. Susil Premajayantha, Dr. Bandula Gunawardana, Keheliya Rambukwella, and Susantha Punchinilame; JVP MP Bimal Rathnayake; UNP MP Lakshman Ananda Wijemanne; ITAK MP M. A. Sumanthiran; UNP MPs Mylvaganam Thilakarajah, Mayantha Dissanayake, Mujibur Rahuman, Wijepala Hettiarachchi, Dr. Ashu Marasinghe, and Dr. S. M. Mohammed Ismail. 

Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

“Sri Lanka’s future lies in producing exportable manufactured goods”: Dr. Howard Nicholas

Monday, 22 July 2019

Drawing lessons from Vietnam’s experiences The Sri Lanka-born economist attached to The Hague based Institute of Social Studies – Dr. Howard Nicholas – addressing a packed audience consisting of the alumni of the Postgraduate Institute of Manag

We should sell our water

Monday, 22 July 2019

When you read the title of this article, you will probably feel disgusted with me as selling our water has been a controversial topic since a long time ago. By the way, I am talking about virtual water trade and you would be surprised to know that we

A voice of compassion amid howls of zealotry

Monday, 22 July 2019

The unrestrained freedom extended by the current regime to a bunch of saffron-clad street vendors of Sinhala Buddhist zealotry is pushing Sri Lanka once again into a cauldron of ethnic and religious convulsion. The nationwide spread and virulence of

Roger Beteille: The man who reinvented the commercial airliner

Monday, 22 July 2019

The visionary engineer, pilot and manager who led Airbus to some its most significant decisions, passed away last month. Beteille, who was the head of French aircraft manufacturer Sud Aviation’s flight testing section, was made technical director

Columnists More