Home / Motor/ Ceylon Motor Traders Association celebrates 99th year

Ceylon Motor Traders Association celebrates 99th year

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Friday, 28 June 2019 00:00

CMTA Ex-Co members 2018/19, Seated from left: Senok Trade Combine Immediate Past Chairman Reeza Rauf, CarMart Senior Vice Chairman Yasendra Amerasinghe, SML Frontier Automotive Chairman Sheran Fernando, Gahanath Pandithage (Diesel & Motor Engineering), Rohan Casiechetty (The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce), and Prestige Automobile Vice Chairman Niranga Pieris Standing from left: Nihal Silva (David Pieris Motor Co.), Charaka Perera (Stafford Motor Co.), Mano Atukorala, (Toyota Lanka), Gihan Pilapitiya, (United Motors Lanka), Tilak Gunasekera (Sathosa Motors), Anushka Polonowita (Drive-One), Bri Ponnambalam, (McLarens Lubricants), Virann de Zoysa, Associated Motorways), Rajeev Aloysius (The Autodrome), and Andrew Perera (Kia Motors Lanka)



The Ceylon Motor Traders Association (CMTA) celebrated its 99th year recently. Affiliated to the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, the CMTA is the most senior automotive trade association in the region.

The CMTA represents all major international automotive manufacturers, through their agents. The members of the CMTA collectively employ and train thousands of Sri Lankan citizens. They bring in international best practices in engineering and management, making the pool that are trained, employable internationally.  In 2019, the Association is looking to develop a policy document, detailing a Future Mobility plan for Sri Lanka. The CMTA is looking to work with international applied research agencies, and international donors to create this document. Once created, the association will work closely with the Government towards the implementation of the recommended policy. The Ceylon Motor Traders Association is widely accepted as the voice of the Sri Lankan automotive industry.



The Executive Committee of the CMTA is as below:


  • Chairman Sheran Fernando, SML Frontier Automotive Ltd.
  • Senior Vice Chairman Yasendra Amerasinghe, CarMart Ltd.
  • Vice Chairman Niranga Pieris, Prestige Automobile Ltd.
  • Immediate Past Chairman Reeza Rauf, Senok Trade Combine Ltd.


Committee members:

  • Associated Motorways Ltd.
  • David Pieris Motor Co. Ltd.
  • Diesel & Motor Engineering PLC
  • Drive-One Ltd.
  • Kia Motors Lanka Ltd.
  • McLarens Lubricants Ltd.
  • Sathosa Motors PLC
  • Stafford Motor Co. Ltd.
  • The Autodrome PLC
  • Toyota Lanka Ltd.

Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

An executive presidency and a technocratic Cabinet accountable to Parliament

Thursday, 21 November 2019

Basil Rajapaksa of the winning party in the 2019 Presidential Election had said that the 19th Amendment (19A) has some good parts and some bad parts. The 19A indeed gives us much despite its flaws. However, the lack of a coherent architecture therein

Sibling wins, patriarch celebrates and minorities stunned

Thursday, 21 November 2019

Is there a more precious gift a family patriarch, who himself a former ruler, could expect to receive on his 74th birthday, than to see his own brother becoming the supreme head of the country he ruled? The victory of Nandasena Gotabaya Rajapaksa (GR

Air India over Colombo

Thursday, 21 November 2019

Amidst the busy politicking in November an unexpected appearance of quite a number of packets of air over the country and in particularly over Colombo caused some distractions and elicited few warnings of a different type. This is about the smog-la

Post-mortem on UNP defeat

Wednesday, 20 November 2019

I believe no post-mortems are necessary on the causes for defeat of the UNP candidate as the reasons were very clear seeing the bickering at the very first post-election meeting of the UNP hierarchy held earlier this week. Although at the election th

Columnists More