Home / Management/ Applications now open for CA Sri Lanka’s 55th Annual Report Awards

Applications now open for CA Sri Lanka’s 55th Annual Report Awards

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Thursday, 8 August 2019 00:19

Head table from left: CA Sri Lanka Vice President Manil Jayesinghe, Annual Report Awards Committee Chairman Heshana Kuruppu, Colombo Stock Exchange Chairman Ray Abeywardena, CA Sri Lanka President Jagath Perera, CSE CEO Rajeeva Bandaranaike, CA Sri Lanka’s CEO Dulani Fernando and Secretary Prasanna Liyanage



  • To crown best masterpiece in financial reporting

To honour the best annual report masterpiece produced in the country, the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka (CA Sri Lanka) is now accepting applications for its 55th Annual Report Awards Competition from business organisations vying for honours in financial reporting. 

Boosted by a progressive history spanning over half a century, the Annual Report Awards Competition organised by CA Sri Lanka has been recognised as an important corporate level competition which promotes transparency, accountability, social responsibility and corporate governance among the country’s diverse business sector.

The competition is open to big and small companies ranging from conglomerates, multinationals to small time community groups as well as NGOs, and even SMEs which produce annual reports. The last day of accepting applications will be 31 August. The Institute will accept reports of financial statements for the year ended 31st December 2018 and 31 March.

CA Sri Lanka President Jagath Perera said that transparency, accountability and corporate responsibility are paramount if Sri Lanka is to achieve sustainability and reach upper middle-income status. “Hence, it is important for companies to produce transparent annual reports in line with globally accepted standards, as financial reporting has a long term bearing on both the corporate world and the country,” he said. 

Perera noted that by introducing the Annual Report Awards Competition over half a century ago, CA Sri Lanka has ensured that businesses have continuously and consistently adhered to globally accepted standards, while promoting transparency and accountability.

“I request organisations to take advantage of this prestigious competition, which has not only set an important benchmark at a national level, but will also help companies enhance their standing by being a responsible business organisation willing to go that extra mile to be better, if not the best,” he added. 

Annual Report Awards Committee Chairman Heshana Kuruppu said that the competition has increased in stature and significance over the years, and the growing number of participants each year is testament to the competition’s importance. “Last year, we had 130 applications from blue chip companies to small time non-profit organisations demonstrating their commitment towards best practices in annual financial reporting.”  

As the competition celebrates its 55th year, Kuruppu said that the committee has decided to move forward by developing a unique identity for the competition. “We understand that the corporate sector has put in a lot of efforts into the competition. Therefore, to recognise such efforts, we have developed a logo and trophy for the exclusive use of the competition from this year onwards. This will enhance the brand and recognition of the competition further,” he said. 

Applications will go through a rigorous marking process, which will involve around 300 personnel including 250 marking examiners, as well as 40 industry experts and the final judging panel comprising of eminent personnel representing commercial enterprises, regulatory authorities and academia. 

The best annual report will be recognised as the ‘Overall Winner’ while companies will also be awarded under 25 sectors ranging from banking, finance, insurance, diversified holdings, manufacturing companies, food and beverage, health, trading, hotel, land and property, motor, service, telecom, media, state corporations and statutory boards, plantation, construction, power and energy, NPOs, NGOs and SMEs. Among the other categories which will be awarded are Management Commentary Awards, Corporate Governance Disclosure Awards, Corporate Social Responsibility Awards, and four awards under the Integrated Reporting category.

The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony in December this year. 


Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Victory over the oppressed

Tuesday, 19 November 2019

The Presidential Election is over and the new President has taken his oaths. Although there were opinions expressed that there can be a second count of preference votes of the candidates other than the first and second, it was an easy victory for Got

The mantra of attracting high-end tourists

Tuesday, 19 November 2019

“Easier said than done!” is what many veterans of the tourism industry say whenever the subject of enticing high spenders to Sri Lanka is debated. That being so, some boutique brands have fetched high prices in the past though the current situati

Adopt high-impact interventions to secure future of antibiotics and rollback the global AMR crisis

Tuesday, 19 November 2019

Antimicrobial resistance (AMR) is a global crisis that threatens the future of our most precious drugs: antibiotics. Across the world, AMR kills an estimated 700,000 people annually, including 230,000 from multi-drug resistant tuberculosis. By 2050,

A child’s guide to MCC Compact Sri Lanka

Monday, 18 November 2019

Intelligent children, unlike some of the adults, are curious, probing and questioning. They do not jump to conclusions until and unless they are convinced of facts that have been presented to them. Asani, a student in the Advanced Level class in a le

Columnists More