Home / FT Click/ DSI Supersport Volleyball Championship 2018 winds down

DSI Supersport Volleyball Championship 2018 winds down

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Monday, 27 August 2018 00:37

The final matches of the DSI Supersport Volleyball Championship 2018 were held on 3 and 4 August at the National Youth Center in Maharagama. 

The district matches took place from 27 April to 1 May and the national level matches from 31 May to 2 July. 

Competition was held in the following age categories: Under 11 Boys and Girls, Under 13 Boys and Girls, Under 15 Boys and Girls, Under 17 Boys and Girls and Under 19 Boys and Girls. The Under 11 Boys and Girls category has been added for the first time this year.

The tournament was initiated by DSI in 1999 with the collaboration of the Sri Lanka Volleyball Federation and the Ministry of Education. A total of 198 teams participated in the tournament. The tournament attracts the highest number of school teams and was being played for the 18th consecutive year.

The objective of the championship is to provide an opportunity for players from both rural and urban parts of the country to showcase their talents on a national platform, as well as supporting the development of players’ careers.

A total of 4,000 teams participated in this year’s tournament.

Final teams

Under 11

  • Boys’ finals – Janadhipathi Vidyalaya, Naththandiya vs. Bishop Edmond Pieris Primary College, Chilaw

3rd Place – Padmawathi Central College, Dekatana

  • Girls’ finals - Uhana Thissapura College, Ampara vs. Siyambalagaswewa Medagama College, Anuradhapura

3rd Place – Reggie Ranathunga College, Minuwangida, Gampaha

Under 13

  • Boys’ finals – Royal College, Ruwanwella vs Sri Sena Maha Vidyalaya, Imbulana

3rd Place - Janadhipathi Vidyalaya, Naththandiya

  • Girls’ finals - Uhana Thissapura College, Ampara vs. Rajakeeya Vidyaloka National College, Trincomalee

3rd Place – Sri Rathanapala Maha Vidyalaya, Mahauswewa

Under 15

  • Boys’ finals – St. Xavier’s College, Marawila vs. St. Joseph Vaz College, Vennappuwa

3rd place – Rajasinghe Central College, Ruwanwella

  • Girls’ finals – Sanghamitta Balika Maha Vidyalaya, Kirindiwela vs. Uhana Thissapura College, Ampara

3rd place – Bopitiya Maha Vidyalaya

Under 17

  • Boys’ finals - Rajasinghe Central College, Ruwanwella vs. St. Xavier’s College, Marawila

3rd place – Davisamara Maha Vidyalaya, Seeduwa

  • Girls’ finals – Anamaduwa Madhya Maha Vidyalaya, Anamaduwa vs. Vijayaba National College, Hungama

3rd place – Uhana Thissapura College, Ampara

Under 19

  • Boys’ finals – Dhammissara National College, Naththandiya vs. Rajasinghe Central College, Ruwanwella 

3rd place – St. Xavier’s College, Marawila

  • Girls’ finals - Anamaduwa Madhya Maha Vidyalaya vs. Sri Rathanapala Maha Vidyalaya, Mahauswewa 

3rd place – Galigamuwa Madhya Maha Vidyalaya, Galigamuwa

Share This Article


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

The Brahmin footprint in Sri Lankan history

Saturday, 17 November 2018

It is generally said that there are no genuine “Sri Lankan” Brahmins in the island today, and that those Brahmins who officiate as priests in Hindu kovils (temples) are of Indian origin with close ties with Tamil Nadu.

Country paying for Sirisena’s childlike behaviour

Saturday, 17 November 2018

Many were surprised on 26 October to see former President Rajapaksa being appointed Prime Minister by the very man who defeated him a couple years ago, at a considerable risk to himself and to those who helped him win the election. Then events beca

The JR-MR effect

Saturday, 17 November 2018

Sri Lanka over the last few weeks has experienced a twin crisis. One is political provoked by its Constitution, and the other economic engendered by its politics. However, this crisis is the combined effect of two previous presidencies, those of J.R.

The fish that swallowed the whale

Friday, 16 November 2018

This is an easy-peasy, elementary effort of an ordinary citizen to comprehend the mad scramble for power among the political class. It is undertaken in the belief that the crisis we face is an opportunity to reject the family kleptocracy of Mahinda R

Columnists More