Home / Front Page/ Veterans return to lead state banks

Veterans return to lead state banks

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Wednesday, 14 November 2018 00:00


Three veterans have been appointed to lead three state banks following the appointment of Finance and Economic Affairs Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa who was also made the Prime Minister by President Maithripala Sirisena.

Business leader Neil Umagiliya has been appointed Chairman of Bank of Ceylon, Sujatha Cooray has been named Chairperson of the People’s Bank and W.A. Nalini will serve as Chairperson of National Savings Bank.

Umagiliya was a former member of the Monetary Board when Nivard Cabraal was the Governor of the Central Bank. He is the Managing Director of Dial Textiles. He replaces Ronald Perera PC.

Cooray was the former director of External Resources and Secretary to the Ministry of Ports and Highways as well as being the Assistant Secretary to the Ministry of Finance. She replaces Hemasiri Fernando as Chairperson. 

Nalini was the former General Manager of Bank of Ceylon and replaces Aswin de Silva.


Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.