Home / Front Page/ President to appoint new committee for SriLankan Airlines restructuring

President to appoint new committee for SriLankan Airlines restructuring

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Saturday, 5 January 2019 00:00

  • 5-member committee to give recommendations in two weeks


By Chathuri Dissanayake 

President Maithripala Sirisena is set to appoint a new committee to give recommendations to restructure SriLankan Airlines on Monday, the President’s Office announced yesterday. 

The committee, comprising of five members, will be required to present its recommendations to the President within two weeks and will accept suggestions and opinions on restructuring the national airline and then make recommendations to the President. The decision was announced after the President met with all stakeholders responsible for the struggling airline to review its status. The discussion focused on a number of issues faced by the national carrier and the impact of loss-making agreements, rising oil prices, rupee depreciation, and lack of proper technology and infrastructure, the statement issued by the President’s Media Division said.

The UNP-led pre-26 October 2018 Government had appointed several committees to restructure the cash-strapped airline, including a high level ministerial committee headed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. 

The committee, on recommendations of the officials committee, which comprised of Government officials responsible for SriLankan Airlines, hired Nyras Aviation Consultants to carry out the restructuring program under a new Board appointed to lead the changes. However, it was learnt that the progress under the program had not been as expected. 

Finance Minister Mangala Samaraweera, Non-Cabinet Minister of Public Distribution and Economic Reforms Dr. Harsha de Silva, and State Minister for Finance Eran Wickremeratne, President’s Secretary Udaya Seneviratne, Central Bank Governor Indrajit Coomaraswamy, Heads of State banks, SriLankan Airlines Chief Executive Officer Vipula Gunatilleka, members of the Board of Directors, and representatives of the unions were present at the meeting. 

Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Withering of expectations and prospects of new ones

Friday, 21 February 2020

The election of Gotabaya Rajapaksa as President at the last Presidential Election can be said to have been the ultimate wish of the majority of Sinhala Buddhist people. Yet, the people were not aware that the President they were electing does not hav

Upsurge of populism

Friday, 21 February 2020

“Populism: denies the pluralism of contemporary societies. It promotes hostility to “enemies” and flirts with violence. It is generally gripped by a territorial mentality that prioritises borders and nation states against ‘foreigners’ and

Diplomatic drone strike, Indo-Lanka equation and constitutional change

Thursday, 20 February 2020

The ‘diplomatic drone strike’, the dramatic US strictures against the Army Commander, Lt. Gen. Shavendra Silva, tells us that Big Brother IS watching. This isn’t the usual suspects, its way out of their league. This is the Big League, the big b

Solar and wind power can resolve electricity crisis, early and cheaper, if allowed

Thursday, 20 February 2020

The country is facing the worst power situation in the history, with electricity generation being unable to meet the demand, with generation costs among the most expensive in the world. With the current scenario, the country cannot be expected to com

Columnists More