President forwards nominees for 5 independent commissions

Wednesday, 25 November 2020 00:24 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • Names sent to Parliamentary Council for observations
  • 5-member National Election Commission to be headed by Commission’s legal adviser Nimal Punchihewa
  • Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption to be headed by retired SC judges and includes a former SIS chief 
  • Public Service Commission members include Dian Gomes and Dilith Jayaweera
  • Police Commission to be headed by retired IGP

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has forwarded to the Parliamentary Council (PC) the names of his nominees to five independent commissions including the National Election Commission (NEC), Public Service Commission, the Police Commission, Human Rights Commission of Sri Lanka (HRCSL) and the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery and Corruption (CIABOC).

The names have been sent to the PC headed by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena for its observations.

The NEC will have five members and it will be headed by Nimal G. Punchihewa who has served as the Commission’s legal adviser for several years while its other members are M.M. Mohamed, Gunapala Wickramage, Jeevan Thyagarajah and K.P.P. Pathirana.

The number of members on the EC was increased from three to five under the 20th Amendment to the Constitution.

The Public Service Commission (PSC) will be headed by retried Supreme Court Justice Jagath Balapatadendi while its members includes Indrani Sugathadasa, Leelasena Liyanagama, Dr. T.R.C. Ruberu, Dian Gomes, W.H. Piyadasa, Dilith Jayaweera, Hema Dharmawardena and Nimal Karunasiri.

The National Police Commission will be headed by retired Inspector General of Police Chandra Fernando, and its members will be S. Liyanagama, Sanjeewa Pathirana, M.S.M. Samsudeen and Premasiri Fernando.

The HRCSL will be headed by Jagath Balasuriya with its members being Vijitha Nanayakkara, Chandana Udawatta, Harsha Nawaratne and Kumari Balalla.

The three-members of the CIABOC are former Supreme Court Justice Eva Wanasundera, retired Court of Appeal Justice Deepali Wijesundera and a former Director of the State Intelligence Service (SIS) Chandra Nimal Wakishta.