PIMA recognises and felicitates its outstanding leaders

Tuesday, 10 November 2020 01:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Seated from left: Shanil Fernando (2003-2004), Ramesh Fonseka (2001-2002), Dr. Samantha Rathnayaka (PIMA-PIM Coordinator), Prof. Ajantha Dharmasiri (Director and Chairman of the Board of Management, PIM and Patron PIMA), Jayalal Hewasasam (2019-2020), Gerry Suraweera (1999-2000), Lakshman Abeysekara (2007-2008). Standing from left: Kemantha Perera (2010-2011), Champal De Costa (2004-2005), Linton Fernando (2008-2010), Parakrama Girihagama (2012 -2013), Dinesh Hamangoda (2018-2019), S.G.G. Rajkumar (2013-2014), Nishantha Gunasekara (2017-2018), Sampath Perera (2014-2017)

Known as the “nation’s management mentor” the PIM, Sri Lanka has garnered a reputation for promoting advanced education and professionalism in management, for a plethora of leading professionals in Sri Lanka through the provision of their top-grade postgraduate instruction, training and research, in the various branches of management.

The PIM vision of becoming a centre for management excellence in South Asia by developing leaders with global presence and local pulse has been driven to become a reality over the last past 12 years, through a set of vibrant and visionary leaders who have acted as the Presidents of PIMA, The PIM Alumni Association. They have been brilliant examples of continuously delivering exceptional achievements in positioning PIM to be the premier centre of excellence in management education in the country that has been at the forefront of producing and guiding a majority of Sri Lanka’s top business professionals and thought leaders.

As such, the PIMA EXCO 2019/2020 recently organised a felicitation ceremony to formally recognise and appreciate the contribution made by these distinguished personnel. The event was held at Waters Edge, Battaramulla amongst a distinguished gathering.

The Director and Chairman of the Board of Management, Postgraduate Institute of Management (PIM), and the Patron PIMA, Prof. Ajantha Dharmasiri, attended the occasion as Chief Guest, and Dr. Samantha Rathnayaka, Senior Management Consultant, PIM and the PIMA – PIM coordinator, attended the function as the Guest of Honour. 

Twelve distinguished Past Presidents were present at the occasion and were felicitated. Namely, Gerry Suraweera (PP 1999-2000), Ramesh Fonseka (PP 2001-2002), Shanil Fernando (2003-2004), Champal De Costa (PP 2004-2005), Lakshman Abeysekara (PP 2007-2008), Linton Fernando (PP 2008-2010), Kemantha Perera (PP 2010-2011), Parakrama Girihagama (PP 2012-2013), S.G.G. Rajkumar (PP 2013- 2014), Sampath Perera (PP 2014-2017), Nishantha Gunasekara (PP 2017-2018), and Dinesh Hamangoda (PP 2018-2019).

The outgoing PIMA President Jajalal Hewawasam, highlighted in his welcome address that this is the very first ‘Past Presidents Felicitation’ in the PIMA history, and said this was initiated to appreciate the hard work and dedication of Past Presidents of PIMA. He further stated he expected active participation from all the Past Presidents of PIMA in order to build up the synergy among the past presidents and current EXCO.  The PIMA is the number one alumni in the professional bodies and should keep up the momentum. 

The current President for the year 2020/21, Denzil Perera added: “Excellence differentiates extraordinary people from ordinary people. Those who strive for excellence will have longevity in their endeavours. It is both, the yardstick and the benchmark. Each of our past presidents have through their service of dedication and excellence helped to build PIMA to what is has become today, and we felt it was appropriate to appreciate and recognise the efforts.”

The event was a testament of the key role played by the PIM, in serving the national interests in mentoring senior-level managers and business leaders through their outstanding industry relevant study programs and results driven teaching methodologies.