Home / Front Page/ NEC stresses on need for sensible tax policy on imports and exports

NEC stresses on need for sensible tax policy on imports and exports

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Thursday, 12 July 2018 01:07

The National Economic Council (NEC) has stressed on the need for a sensible tax policy on imports and exports. 

At its meeting on Monday, the NEC chaired by President Maithripala Sirisena has paid attention to situations where the retail price is significantly higher than the landed cost of some imported goods. The President expressed concern over apparent excessive profits made by intermediaries and businesses on some goods and services and the need to have a systemic system for strengthening consumer protection.

The NEC also deliberated on the need for changes to the tax policy on imports and exports in order to discourage non-essential imports and promote exports. As foreign exchange is important to the development of the Sri Lankan economy, the President said that foreign exchange remittances to the country should be free of any taxes and levies. Higher remittances will also help build up foreign exchange reserves.President Sirisena and Minister Arjuna Ranatunga stressed the importance of completing the construction of the new pipeline to pump oil from the Port of Colombo to the Kolonnawa refinery. 

The President ordered quick steps by relevant ministries to solve the issues arisen at Mahawatta area regarding the construction of the new pipeline.

The Electricity Sector Master Plan prepared by the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) for the Ministry of Power and Energy was presented to the President by the Japanese Ambassador Kenichi Suganuma. Chief Representative of JICA Sri Lanka office and a contingent of Japanese delegation participated in this event.

On behalf of the Government, NEC Secretary-General Prof. Lalith Samarakoon thanked the Japanese Government, Ambassador Suganuma and JICA for their support and the master plan which will benefit Sri Lanka in designing its energy policy.

Ministers Mangala Samaraweera, Mahinda Samarasinghe, Arjuna Ranatunga, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya and Kabir Hashim, State Minister Ajith P. Perera, Secretary to the President Udaya R. Seneviratne, the Secretary-General and Chief Economist of the National Economic Council, Prof. Lalith Samarakoon and other members and officers were present at the meeting.

Share This Article


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Bright star Imran Khan could well go the way of his predecessors

Saturday, 21 July 2018

Imran Khan, the Pakistani cricket star, anti-corruption crusader and politician, appears to be within reach of his cherished goal of winning the 25 July Pakistan National Assembly (NA) elections and becoming Prime Minister.

Top Cola brand crashing globally; lesson for Sri Lanka

Friday, 20 July 2018

We have heard the age old adage, if a brand is not in line to the trends of a customer, they will cease to exist over time.

Religion and politics: a tale of two hypocrisies

Friday, 20 July 2018

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times; it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness; it was the epoch of belief,

Sri Lanka’s Trade Information Portal – Bringing local traders one step closer to the global market

Friday, 20 July 2018

Sri Lanka’s traditional lacework famously known as Beeralu is slowly moving into the spotlight of the global fashion industry

Columnists More