Home / Front Page/ Govt. to implement visa-on-arrival scheme for 39 countries from 1 August

Govt. to implement visa-on-arrival scheme for 39 countries from 1 August

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Wednesday, 10 July 2019 00:25

In a bid to boost tourism, the Government yesterday announced that the visa-on-arrival scheme for citizens of 39 countries will be implemented from 1 August, after the move, which was to be effective from 1 May, was suspended soon after the Easter Sunday attacks. 

“Earlier we had the Cabinet approval for a number of countries other than India and China. Due to the Easter Sunday terror attacks, we had to temporary suspend it until the country bounced back to normal. 

Yesterday (Monday) I had a chat with Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and he said to prepare a Cabinet paper to revive the previously suspended Cabinet paper,” Tourism Development Minister John Amaratunga told journalists.

However, this time around, the Minister said the Government would introduce a tracking system to ensure that no “undesirable people” would enter the country.

“There were few aspects that they are concerned in implementing the free visa-on-arrival. We have to see whether there are undesirable people who come into the country and make use of this opportunity. Therefore, whilst revival of previous Cabinet paper is being done, we have to find ways and means on how to track those passengers who are coming to Sri Lanka. We are trying to develop a separate platform in order to ensure that no unwanted people make use of this opportunity and create problems in Sri Lanka,” he added.

Amaratunga said the revival Cabinet paper will be drafted soon as a joint Cabinet paper by the Ministry of Tourism Development and Ministry of Internal and Home Affairs.

When asked why the major tourism source markets of India and China were not included in the list of countries eligible for free visa-on-arrival, the Minister said that the majority of income was derived from these two countries, and they are now doing this as a trial project for six months. 

“We want see whether it will beneficial or whether we will lose revenue. We will wait and see. If it goes well, we will extend it to China and India as well,” he added.

The countries included in the visa-on-arrival scheme are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, 

Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, 

Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, 

Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States of America, Japan, 

Australia, South Korea, Canada, Singapore, New Zealand, Malaysia, Thailand and Switzerland.

Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Diplomatic drone strike, Indo-Lanka equation and constitutional change

Thursday, 20 February 2020

The ‘diplomatic drone strike’, the dramatic US strictures against the Army Commander, Lt. Gen. Shavendra Silva, tells us that Big Brother IS watching. This isn’t the usual suspects, its way out of their league. This is the Big League, the big b

Solar and wind power can resolve electricity crisis, early and cheaper, if allowed

Thursday, 20 February 2020

The country is facing the worst power situation in the history, with electricity generation being unable to meet the demand, with generation costs among the most expensive in the world. With the current scenario, the country cannot be expected to com

Sri Lanka: A great ocean polluter with plastics? No, we are not!

Thursday, 20 February 2020

I was going through the corridors of an impressive State training facility in the heart of Colombo and witnessed the message on each floor as you await the lift that Sri Lanka is the fifth largest marine polluter with respect to single use plastics!

Future of higher education and challenges for public universities in Sri Lanka

Thursday, 20 February 2020

We are constantly told that the workplace or private spaces of the future will be radically changed due to rapid technological changes, but the only certainty about this future is its uncertainty. How do we face such an uncertain future? The consensu

Columnists More