Home / Financial Services/ Trade Finance Association of Bankers holds 22nd AGM

Trade Finance Association of Bankers holds 22nd AGM

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Thursday, 11 April 2019 00:00


Seated from left: K.R. Naguleswaran, DFCC Bank; Manjula Gunawardana; National Development Bank, Susantha Fernando, Seylan Bank; Shyam De Silva, Hatton National Bank; Lawrian Somanader, Commercial Bank of Ceylon; A.S.M.W. Kumarasiri, People’s Bank; Janath Ilangantileke, Hatton National Bank; Sanjeewa Jayasooriya, Standard Chartered Bank; Gaya Manamperi (formerly at Sampath Bank); Senaka De Silva, National Development Bank. Standing from left: Kasun Muthukuda, Nations Trust Bank; Niranjan Dabare, Deutsche Bank AG; Tharinda Amarasinghe, Sampath Bank; Indika Liyanage, Pan Asia Banking Corporation; Saroja Pathirana, Sampath Bank; Kanchana De Silva, Union Bank of Colombo; Rochelle Fernando, Bank of Ceylon; Neil Handapangoda, Citi Bank N.A; Imthiyaz Rajab, The Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation; Susantha Weerasinghe, People’s Bank; K.K. Susantha, Bank of Ceylon

The Trade Finance Association of Bankers at its 22nd Annual General Meeting held on 27 February at the Rainbow Room, Grand Oriental Hotel, elected its new Council for the year 2019/2020.

The Trade Finance Association of Bankers has from its inception, been actively engaged in imparting knowledge and the required skills to its members by conducting seminars, lectures, discussions, workshops etc., on a wide range of topics relating to international trade. Educating the Sri Lankan entrepreneurs who are engaged in International Trade is also an objective of the Association in order to assist them to keep abreast of the changes that are taking place in the industry.

The membership comprises almost all commercial banks operating in Sri Lanka. A number of senior bankers play major roles in conducting its activities towards the achievement of the goals and objectives of the association.

The association is backed by an Advisory Committee comprising four senior bankers and former TFAB Presidents A. Kathiravelupillai (Inaugural President), Michael Peiris, Nilam Jumat and Thushy David, all having extensive experience in the international banking business.

The following persons were elected as office-bearers of the Trade Finance Association of Bankers for the year 2019/2020 during the Annual General Meeting:

President: A.S.M.W. Kumarasiri, Assistant General Manager – Trade Finance, People’s Bank

Senior Vice President: Lawrian Somanader Chief Manager - Exports, Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC

Vice President: Janath Ilangantileke, Assistant General Manager – Trade and Financial Institutions, Hatton National Bank PLC

Secretary General: Sanjeewa Jayasooriya, Standard Chartered Bank Ltd.

Treasurer: Shyam De Silva, Hatton National Bank PLC

Assistant Secretary: K.R. Naguleswaran, DFCC Bank PLC

Assistant Treasurer: Senaka De Silva, National Development Bank PLC

Immediate Past President: Susantha Fernando, Seylan Bank PLC

Other council members comprise: Gaya Manamperi (formerly at Sampath Bank), Manjula Gunawardana (National Development Bank PLC), Neil Handapangoda (Citi Bank N.A), Kasun Muthukuda (Nations Trust Bank PLC), Indika Liyanage (Pan Asia Banking Corporation PLC), Kanchana De Silva (Union Bank of Colombo PLC), Susantha Weerasinghe (People’s Bank), Tharinda Amarasinghe (Sampath Bank PLC), Niranjan Dabare (Deutsche Bank AG), K.K. Susantha (Bank of Ceylon), Rochelle Fernando (Bank of Ceylon), Imthiyaz Rajab (The Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Ltd), Saroja Pathirana (Sampath Bank PLC).

Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Will power cuts solve electricity crisis?

Tuesday, 23 April 2019

The country faced electricity power cuts, reminding citizens of early 1990s, which resulted in private power producers supplying electrical power with long-term power supply agreements. Today, most have completed their agreement period, but some were

Easter attack: Going beyond condemnation

Tuesday, 23 April 2019

Yesterday was Easter Sunday; 227 persons [at the time of writing] have been killed, and many times more injured. The primary targets were churches and international hotels. It seems clear that the extremist group ISIS (Islamic State of Iraq and Syria

Easter Sunday nightmare

Tuesday, 23 April 2019

This is the most important day of the year for Christians – the Peaceful Easter Sunday or Easter Day was shattered by deadly explosions in several Christian churches throughout the country; and we excoriate such hatred in our beloved country. We th

Poignant pondering on a patriarch

Monday, 22 April 2019

Almost five months have gone. It is with a profound sense of sadness that we experienced the demise of our veteran teacher, respected author, legal luminary, an accomplished ambassador, an eminent public servant and an amazing human being, Dr. Wickre

Columnists More