Home / Entertainment / Arts/ New faces to MPI Board

New faces to MPI Board

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Friday, 1 June 2018 00:00

Well known film producer and director of MPI Film Circuit, Dr. Arosha Fernando said that the seasoned film actor, director and producer Arjuna Kamalanath has been appointed as the Joint Managing Director of the MPI Film Circuit after the recent acquisition of some of the shares of the company backed by one of the largest finance corporates in the country. 

“As part of this new investment, popular film actress Ameesha Kavindhi, former senior officer of the National Film Corporation and EAP Film Circuit K. Wimaladasa and two others were too appointed to the board further strengthening the MPI Film Circuit,” Dr. Arosha further added. 

Sunil T. Fernando who is currently operating as the other Joint Managing Director of the company and Tissa Nagodawithana as a Director will remain as it is. 

MPI film circuit has a total of 34 film theatres including both Sinhala centres and Tamil centres spread across the country including North and East. It’s one of the largest film circuits in Sri Lanka after the state owned Rithma film circuit which comes under the National Film Corporation having 57 theatres.

Share This Article


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Greening China and BRI: Chinese legal framework for sustainable environment protection

Tuesday, 20 November 2018

The concept and scope of greening the belt and road The Greening BRI is to add the ‘greening’ notion along with the ‘BRI’. Building a ‘Greening BRI’ means adhering to the concept of green development, balanced development, harmony betwee

Political evil paralysing Parliament

Tuesday, 20 November 2018

Our politics has arrived at a point when we must insist on recognising the niceties of human nastiness. Organised horror in Parliament is either trivialised or ignored by most of mainstream media print and electronic.

10 theses on Sri Lanka’s existential crisis: Roots, dynamics, dimensions

Tuesday, 20 November 2018

1.The crisis has deep national, social and psychological roots. Our island contains two consciousnesses or two types of consciousness, two competing states of mind. Contrary to myth, the periphery of our island has the longest uninterrupted colonial

Make toilets and safe sanitation services accessible to all

Tuesday, 20 November 2018

All people everywhere should have access to safe sanitation services, including hygienic toilets that are connected to quality sewage systems. For many people across the WHO South-East Asia Region, as across the world, access to these services never

Columnists More