Coralie Pieterz joins United Motors Board

Monday, 5 April 2021 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Coralie Pietersz has been appointed to the Board of United Motors Lanka PLC as an Independent Non-Executive Director.

She is an Independent Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committees of Seylan Bank PLC, People’s Leasing and Finance PLC, Bogala Graphite Lanka PLC and Hemas Pharmaceuticals Ltd., and is also Senior Director of Seylan Bank PLC and People’s Leasing and Finance PLC. 

She is an Independent Non-Executive Director of R. I. L. Property PLC. 

Coralie is an Associate Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and a fellow member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka. She has a B.Sc. (Hons.) in physics from the University of Sussex and holds an MBA from Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh. 

Coralie trained with Thornton Baker Chartered Accountants, London, now known as Grant Thornton. On her return to Sri Lanka, she joined the Mahaweli Authority, one of the country’s major projects at that time. Her next move was to the banking sector. 

She was Finance Manager of Commercial Bank of Ceylon before moving onto roles in internal audit and corporate banking. 

After a stint as CFO of Nations Trust Bank, Coralie joined Richard Pieris as CFO of the plantation sector. She viewed this move to a very different sector as a challenge and learning experience. A promotion to Group CFO followed rapidly, a role that entailed responsibility for the finance function of this diversified group, which included five listed companies.

Coralie joined Finlays Colombo in November 2010 as Finance Director and was appointed as Finance Director of Hapugastenne Plantations PLC and Udapussellawa Plantations PLC in 2016 and held these roles until 2020. She is currently Managing Director of Compass Advisory Services Ltd., a provider of equity research and analytical support to clients. 

Coralie is an active member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka. She is a member of the council and has served on several committees.