Home / Front Page/ CCC appoints Rajendra Theagarajah as new Chairman

CCC appoints Rajendra Theagarajah as new Chairman

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Friday, 30 June 2017 00:10


01 03 

  • Vice Chairman Dr. Hans Wijayasuriya and Deputy Vice Chairman Vish Govindasamy

 The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce (CCC) appointed Rajendra Theagarajah as its new Chairman during its 178th AGM yesterday.   

Veteran banker Theagarajah succeeds outgoing Chairman Samantha Ranatunga, who led the chamber during the past two years. He functioned as the Vice Chairman, Deputy Vice Chairman and Board Member and also served as a member of the Chamber Committee for several years. 

Dr. Hans Wijayasuriya was appointed as the Vice Chairman of the Chamber, while Vish Govindasamy was appointed as the Deputy Vice Chairperson for the year 2017 and 2018 financial year.

The chamber also appointed several new members to its nine-member Board of Directors, which consists of Chairman, Vice Chairperson, Deputy Vice Chairman, CEO and five ‘Directors’.

Accordingly, the nine-member Board of the chamber includes Rajendra Theagarajah, Chairman of the Ceylon Chamber and Joint Deputy Chairperson of Cargills Bank; Dr. Hans Wijayasuriya, Vice Chairman of the Chamber and Group Chief Executive Officer, South Asia Region/Corporate Executive, Vice President of Axiata Group BHD; Vish Govindasamy, Deputy Vice Chairman of the Chamber and Group Managing Director of Sunshine Holdings; Duminda Hulangamuwa, Partner and Head of Tax Services of Ernst & Young; Hiran Cooray, Chairman, Jetwing Group; Krishan Balendra, Executive Director, John Keells Holdings PLC; Pravir Samarasinghe, Director/Group CEO, Overseas Realty (Ceylon) Ltd.; Husein Esufally, Chairman, Hemas Holdings PLC; and Dhara Wijayatilake, CEO of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce.

Balendra, Samarasinghe and Esufally are the new Board members.

Binod Chaudhary, who was listed as the first and only billionaire in Nepal by the Forbes Magazine, and who is also the President of the CG Corp|Global Chaudhary Group, graced the occasion as the Chief Guest of the event. 

Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.