Home / Front Page/ Krishantha quits SLT Board, Wegapitiya enters

Krishantha quits SLT Board, Wegapitiya enters

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Monday, 7 December 2015 00:38



Untitled-2UNP Media Head and Working Committee member Krishantha Cooray has resigned from the Board of Sri Lanka Telecom as an Independent Non-Executive Director with effect from 1 December, the company said in a filing to the CSE last week.Filling the vacancy on the Board is W.K.H. Wegapitiya with effect from 2 December 2015.

Cooray was among three appointed to SLT Board after the change of Government by the then Minister of Telecommunications Mangala Samaraweera. The other two are Firdouse Farook and Nilanthi Pieris.

There was speculation that Farook had also resigned but SLT has not announced it as yet.  Cooray holds a BA (Hons) degree in Political Science and Law from the University of Middlesex. 

Wegapitiya previously served as a member of the SLT’s subsidiary Mobitel Board following the change of Government. In that connection, appointment to SLT Board is an upgrade for Wegapitiya.

He is the Chairman and Group CEO of Laugfs Gas Plc and parent Laugfs Holdings Ltd. He is an Executive Committee member of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, National Pay Commission and Council Member of the University of Sri Jayawardenepura. He was the Past Chairman of the Chamber of Young Lankan Entrepreneurs (COYLE) in 2010 and a former Director and Executive Council Member of the Federation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FCCISL).

He was adjudged as the Entrepreneur of the Year 2012 at the Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards. He was also conferred National Gold award for Entrepreneurship in 2005 and was adjudged Entrepreneur of the Year in 2006 with the platinum award by the FCCISL.

Wegapitiya holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration Special Degree from the Sri Jayawardenepura University. He is also a holder of Master of Business Administration degree from the Post Graduate Institute of Management (PIM). At present he is reading for his PhD - Business Management from the PIM, University of Sri Jayawardenepura.

Following the change, the Board of Directors of SLT comprises P.G. Kumarasinghe Sirisena (Chairman), Chan Chee Beng, Jeffrey Jay Blatt, Lawrence Paratz, Lai Choon Foong, Chandra Ekanayake, Nilanthi Pieris, F. Farook and W.K.H. Wegapitiya.

Secretary to the Treasury owns 49.50% stake in SLT whilst Malaysian-owned Global Telecommunications Holdings NV owns 45% stake.

Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Revitalising the tourist inflows

Wednesday, 22 May 2019

Easter Sunday 21 April terror acts have dealt a very heavy blow on tourism. The inflow has dried up for the moment while it can be presumed that forward selling too may have become sluggish. It is noted that Government has introduced a series of meas

Truth has now arrived, and falsehood has perished

Wednesday, 22 May 2019

“And say: Truth has now arrived, and Falsehood has perished: for Falsehood by its very own nature is bound to perish.” Holy Quran: Chapter 17 Verse 81. Every discussion, debate and discourse that we see and hear over the audio – visual and prin

Afghan refugees face Jaffna’s hostility: These Sri Lankans are crazy

Wednesday, 22 May 2019

Abbas Ahmadi, an IT specialist, was rather high in the Afghan provincial civil service. He is of Hazara ethnicity and persecuted by the majority Pashtuns who ironically dominate the ruling faction as well as the rebelling Taliban.The Hazaras are inpa

One month gone: No charge on over 200 Catholics murdered

Wednesday, 22 May 2019

It’s been one month since the murder of around 300 innocent Catholic children and parents but no has yet been charged for the biggest negligence of duty that Sri Lanka has seen in recent history. The President and Prime Minister have both denied a

Columnists More