Home / Front Page/ UPFA appoints 7 defeated candidates on National List

UPFA appoints 7 defeated candidates on National List

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Saturday, 22 August 2015 00:08

In a move that has caused public outrage, the UPFA has included seven defeated candidates from the party as National List nominees in the list submitted to the Elections Commissioner yesterday.

Defeated UPFA candidates Lakshman Yapa Abeywardane (Matara), S.B. Dissanayake (Nuwara Eliya), Mahinda Samarasinghe (Kalutara), Vijith Wijayamuni Soyza (Moneragala), Thilanga Sumathipala (Colombo), Angajan Ramanadan (Jaffna) and M.L.A. M. Hizbullah (Batticaloa), all of whom failed to secure a seat in Monday’s poll, will enter Parliament through the National List.

At least five candidates are seen as Sirisena loyalists against whom the Rajapaksa faction contesting the Parliamentary election carried out systematic smear campaigns, urging people to refrain from voting for them.

These candidates are widely expected to assist both President Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe to build the numbers necessary to secure 113 seats or a majority in Parliament. The UNP fell seven seats short of that magic number when it won 106 seats in this week’s poll.

Other nominees on the UPFA list include former MPs Dilan Perera, Dr. Sarath Amunugama, A.H.M. Fowzie, Faiszer Mustapha and Malith Jayasekera.

The announcement of the UPFA National List came even as UNP General Secretary Kabir Hashim hailed his party’s decision not to grant defeated candidates places on the National List, in accordance with the policies of good governance.

However analysts said the President was being hailed for his decision to accommodate Ramanadan, the UPFA Jaffna District candidate in the National List, after the UNP failed to include any nominees from Mano Ganesan’s Tamil Progressive Alliance or Upcountry strongman P. Digambaran’s faction.

Meanwhile, clashes erupted in Kattankudy last night between supporters and political opponents of M.H.M. Hisbullah, injuring four persons. The clashes erupted after Hisbullah’s supporters celebrated his appointment on the UPFA National List with firecrackers.

A social media campaign has also commenced calling on people to join a protest at Independence Square at 2 p.m. today against the appointment of defeated candidates on party National Lists.

Share This Article


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Taking sides – on the side of the law

Monday, 19 November 2018

I am under criticism for “taking sides” in the ongoing dispute between the UNF and UPFA. Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa has accused me thus: “Yesterday a commissioner from the Elections Commission went to the Supreme Court saying that the P

Hang the House! It’s OUR country, future, etc.

Monday, 19 November 2018

I have rarely if ever empathised with the Sri Lanka Police Department. But when I saw those hapless cops ducking chilli bombs in Parliament, my heart went out to those whom I had previously seen as simply being PC Plods or Mr Goons. Sorry to say that

The only way out

Monday, 19 November 2018

Leaving aside the legalities, politicalities, constitutionalities and the complexities of the current imbroglio in which the nation is grounded (temporarily), the underlying issues in the constitutional crisis can be reduced to one single question: a

Man-made constitutional crisis: Personal vendettas should not be allowed to destroy the country

Monday, 19 November 2018

President is simply one presiding over an entity of people It all came to surface as the culmination of a personal vendetta between President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. The country at large knew of it when the Pre

Columnists More