Home / Youth / Careers / Higher Education/ Transfer options to prestigious foreign universities through SLIIT

Transfer options to prestigious foreign universities through SLIIT

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Thursday, 24 October 2013 00:00

  •  New tie ups with Loughborough University UK, Teesside University UK, University of Huddersfield UK and La Trobe University Australia brings total to 24 foreign universities
  SLIIT, the premier degree awarding institute, adjudged the best higher educational institute in Sri Lanka by the recent survey of the prestigious LMD magazine has commenced enrolment for its degree programs for the year 2013/2014. SLIIT a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities and also a member of the International Association of Universities, is the only non state higher educational institute in Sri Lanka which has gained such recognition. The degrees offered by SLIIT are approved by the University Grants Commission under the Universities Act. SLIIT also offers foreign university degrees and degree pathways to foreign universities in UK, Australia, US and Canada. SLIIT which has affiliations with 24 foreign universities has carved out numerous pathways for students to complete their degree at SLIIT or transfer to the respective partner university after two years of study at SLIIT. The partner universities are high in rank, internationally focused and deliver high quality education.     Expanding academic opportunities With the aim of expanding academic opportunities for deserving students, SLIIT has tied up with four new foreign universities recently. The new additions are; Loughborough University UK, Teesside University UK, University of Huddersfield UK and La Trobe University Australia. The MOU with Loughborough University was signed by Pro-Vice Chancellor (Teaching) Professor Morage Bell and SLIIT President/CEO Professor Lalith Gamage on behalf of the two institutes. According to the agreement, students of SLIIT who complete one year of the degree program with a 60% average will have the option of transferring to Loughborough and completing the two years in a BSc. in Computer Science and/or a BSc. in Computer Science with Artificial Intelligence. Students will be eligible for a 20% bursary of the tuition fee applicable to the year of entry, while students who maintain an average of 70% in the first year of the diploma at SLIIT will be eligible for a 70% bursary of the Loughborough university course fee applicable to the year of entry. Teesside University Assistant Dean of Computing Dr. Gary Griffiths also signed an agreement with SLIIT recently. Teesside University, based in Middleborough, in the heart of the Northern England  has consistently been  in the top four in the UK for overall average international student satisfaction (International Student Barometer 2008-11). Named the best new university for student experience in the UK by Times Higher Education Survey 2011, offers a BSc (Hons) in IT and BSc (Hons) in Computing. While students have the opportunity to complete the final year in UK, all SLIIT students will be eligible for a scholarship of 1,500 pounds for the final year. “We also recently tied up with University of Huddersfield, UK for the Computing and Engineering programs. Our goal is to broaden students’ prospects by providing numerous academic pathways through collaborations with some of the world’s leading universities,” states Professor Lalith Gamage.     Greater study options In order to provide students with greater study options, SLIIT has partnered with La Trobe University, Australia. Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice President Prof. John Rosenberg signed the agreement on behalf of the prestigious La Trobe University. Students completing the two year diploma in Business Management at SLIIT have the option of transferring to La Trobe University to complete the final year of the internationally recognised degree in Business Management. Students who complete the final year at La Trobe and continue to their Masters are eligible for a 10% discount on course fee. “SLIIT’s success and growing reputation have enabled the institute to increase its investment in high-quality academic and professional staff. The institute is committed to maintaining the highest academic standards, and innovative and modern teaching methods. SLIIT ensures its students a learning experience that is rewarding and enriching,” opined SLIIT Chairman Professor S. Karunaratne. The partner universities of SLIIT are; Sheffield Hallam University, University of Nottingham, Robert Gordon University, Teesside University, University of Huddersfield, Loughborough University, Curtin University, William Angliss Institute, University of Surrey, RMIT, Queensland University of Technology, Deakin University, University of Newcastle, Swinburne University, University of Tasmania, University of South Australia, La Trobe University, Algoma University, Memorial University, University of Wollongong, Southeast Missouri State University, University of Cincinnati, Stratford University and Illinois State University.     Partner university day Together with representatives from prestigious foreign partner universities, SLIIT hosted a partner university day recently at the SLIIT campus in Malabe. The partner University day was held for prospective students and their parents to witness and understand SLIIT’s academic programs, foreign university partnerships and facilities geared to bring out the best in each student. Interested students and parents can obtain further information by logging into www.sliit.lk or visiting the SLIIT Metropolitan Campus, BOC Merchant Tower, No. 28, St. Michael’s Road, Colombo 3 or the Malabe Campus, New Kandy Road, Malabe.  

Share This Article


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Lasantha, journalists and diplomats

Wednesday, 23 January 2019

We find scarce little to celebrate in a sullied land, marking our days remembering the tragedies that tell our blood-soaked history. In the troubled decades preceding, many, from the highest in the land to average citizens, have met with violent ends

Automation and machine learning: Helping organisations extract deeper value from data

Tuesday, 22 January 2019

The world is in the midst of a data explosion. Humans are generating an estimated 2.5 quintillion bytes of data every single day1, according to Forbes, and more data was created in the past two years than in all of human history. No wonder data now r

SL tourism: From TOM to experience the brand in 2019

Tuesday, 22 January 2019

Last week I had just crossed the border that separates Laos from Thailand and was on route via land to Thailand. My mind was on Laos – a country branded globally as ‘Simply Beautiful’ (backed by the ADB in 2018) to attract visitors into the cou

Questionable (or absurd) official report on poverty indicators

Tuesday, 22 January 2019

The latest Report issued by the Ministry of National Policies and Economic Affairs on ‘Poverty Indicators’ is both questionable and outrageous.1This Ministry is under the responsibility of the Prime Minister, Ranil Wickremesinghe. Most of the sta

Columnists More