Home / Sports/ Sri Lankan scrabblers excel at World Youth Scrabble Championship - 2010

Sri Lankan scrabblers excel at World Youth Scrabble Championship - 2010

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Tuesday, 28 December 2010 00:02


The World Youth Scrabble Championship 2010, organized by World English-Language Scrabble Players Association (WESPA) was held in Manila Philippines from 8th – 10th December 2010.

This under-18 tournament attracted 82 players from 14 countries, including the United Kingdom, Australia, Malaysia, Thailand, Nigeria, South Africa, Qatar and Singapore. Ker Jen Ho of Malaysia won the Championship by winning 19 games out of 24, with a margin of 1576.  

Sri Lanka was allocated 7 places in this tournament. Migara Jayasinghe won the trophy for the Best under-12 player and Ransimala Weerasooriya became 11th, the highest place secured by a Sri Lankan. Results of the Sri Lankan players: Ransimala Weerasooriya – 11th (15 wins, 305 margin), Yasiru Fernando – 15th (14 w, 617 m), Nishan Perera – 21st (14 w, 186m), Yeshan Jayasuriya – 25th (13 w, 570 m), Vinu Wijesekera – 32nd (13 w, 8 m), Migara Jayasinghe – 35th (12.5 w, 413 m), Sasika Jayasuriya – 71st (9 w, -199 m). Dinuk De Silva (a private participant) secured the 44th place (12 w, -108 m).

Share This Article

Facebook Twitter


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Tawheed is not a misdeed but dirtied by the extreme

Saturday, 25 May 2019

A singular and specific victim of the whole macabre incident of the 21 April Easter Sunday bombings by terrorists in Sri Lanka from a standpoint of Muslims was the maligning, tarnishing and distorting of a term indispensable, necessitous and fundamen

17 things ‘Avengers: Endgame’ teaches us about the state of our superheroes

Friday, 24 May 2019

Art imitates life. Even movies do. Maybe especially so. In these lean times, there’s nothing like a little laughter to stop the press, stem the blood pressure, ease that stress in life. So here goes. Trust you’ll take these tongue-in-cheek. Or pe

Sri Lanka needs urgent surgery!

Friday, 24 May 2019

Sri Lanka was on the slippery slope of a serious crisis, heading for a great disaster of the State, even before the outbreak of Easter Sunday attacks. Now, in the aftermath of the ruthless Easter Sunday attacks, the country’s crisis has become exac

Mangala, Monks, Mangala Sutta and Marx

Friday, 24 May 2019

In the Buddhist belief system, ‘Mangala’ means a ‘blessing’. In the abstract ‘Mangala’ denotes an ‘auspicious sign’. In the ‘Mangala Sutta’, the Buddha has enumerated 38 of the highest blessings that we must or should be guided b

Columnists More