Central Bank issues circulation standard commemorative coin to mark 70th anniversary

Friday, 26 February 2021 00:36 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

To mark its 70th anniversary, the Central Bank has issued an uncirculated commemorative coin (aluminium bronze) in the denomination of Rs. 20 on 31 December 2020. 

Concurrently to the above, CBSL has also decided to issue a circulation standard commemorative coin (nickel plated steel) in the denomination of Rs. 20 with the same design of the uncirculated commemorative coin. 

The first coin was officially presented to President Gotabaya Rajapaksa by Central Bank Governor Prof. W.D. Lakshman this week.

The Central Bank commenced operations in August 1950 and completed 70 years of its unique and valued contribution to the prosperity of Sri Lanka. 

The obverse of the coin depicts the image of the Head Office building of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka with ‘70’ in large numerals appearing at the centre of the coin. The words ‘Central Bank of Sri Lanka’ in Tamil, Sinhala and English appear along the periphery. The years 1950-2020 are indicated at the bottom edge of the coin.

The reverse of the coin depicts the face value ‘20’ in large numerals with the words ‘Twenty Rupees’ in Sinhala, Tamil and English and year ‘2020’ just below the words. ‘Sri Lanka’ appears along the periphery on the upper edge of the coin in Tamil, Sinhala, and English.

The coin will be issued into circulation on 3 March 2021 through the Licensed Commercial Banks and can be used for payments along with existing other currency notes and coins in circulation.