Home / Sports/ All Stars take on Cricket Stars in celebrity football match tomorrow

All Stars take on Cricket Stars in celebrity football match tomorrow

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Friday, 6 October 2017 00:00

A unique celebrity football match between the All Stars and Cricket Stars teams to promote goodwill will be played tomorrow at the Zahira College grounds at 3.30 p.m.

Organised by the Past Prefects’ Association of Zahira College, the celebrity match will kick off the Zahira Super 16 Soccer Championship as well as be part of the celebrations of 100 years of Zahira College football.

The All Stars team will be captained by Santhush Weeraman and the Cricket Stars team will be led by Mahela Jayawardena. Entrance tickets are priced at Rs. 500 (standing) and Rs. 100 (tiers).

The sponsors of the match are Cool Planet (Platinum), The Factory Outlet (Gold), Bolt-Gear (Silver) and The Traveller (Bronze).

The Cricket Stars team will include Mahela Jayawardena, Chaminda Vaas, Upul Chandana, Nuwan Zoysa, Isuru Udana, Graeme Labrooy, Shehan Daniel, Lanka De Silva, Simon Willis, Chamila Gamage, Lasantha Prasad, Ravindra Pushpakumara, Shane Fernando, Jarome Jayaratne, Asoka Piris, Duncan Davendra, Sajith Fernando, Wandell Labrooy, Dharshana Gamage and Sudarshana Guruge.

The All Stars team will include Santhush Weeraman – singer (B&S), Fouzul Hameed – Chairman (BOG – Zahira College), Anura De Silva – President FFSL, Mohamed Amanulla – former  national football player, Mohamed Roomy – former national football player, Mohamed Imran – former national football player, Naina Mohamed – former national football player, M.U.M. Azmi – President (OBA Zahira College), Nalaka Weerakkodi – former national rugby and football player, Fazil Marija – national rugby player, Riza Mubarak – national rugby player, Peter Woods – national rugby coach, Mohamed Nazmi – Managing Director, Cool Planet, Ajay Vir Singh – fashion designer, Roshan Watawala – journalist, Zia ul Hassan – media personality, Mohamed Rahuman – Zahira football player, Murshid Rahuman – Zahira College football captain, Tito Hasheemdeen – Zahira football player, MMK Namiz – Zahira football player, Subhani Hassimdeen – national football legend, Nimnaz Rameez – Immediate Past President (PPA), Rinaz Rafaideen – Founder and Project Chairman (Celebrity Football Match), and Zaniffer Rameez – President Past Prefects’ Association. The Past Prefects’ Association of Zahira College Colombo have organised the ‘Zahira Super 16 Soccer Championship 2017’ from 15-21 October from 2.00 p.m. onwards at the Zahira College grounds and City League grounds in Colombo. The cup winners will be given a cash prize of Rs. 50,000. Furthermore, this is the only soccer tournament in the country which offers such cash prizes and awards at the school level. 

The 16 participating teams are De Mazenod, Kandana, Gateway International, Hindu College Colombo, Hameedia College, Isipathana College, Lyceum International, Maris Stella College, Negombo, Nalanda College, St. Peter’s College, Royal College Colombo, St. Benedict’s College, St. Joseph’s College, St. Henry College, Trinity College, Kandy, Wesley College and Zahira College Colombo and they will be powered by 16 prominent corporate brands in the country.


Share This Article


Today's Columnists

Kodak moments for Sri Lanka Tourism

Wednesday, 13 December 2017

It was quite disheartening to see the tourism numbers for November 2017 dropping to 167,511 visitors at 0.2% growth against

Liberalising shipping and logistics: Cat out of the bag on THC too

Wednesday, 13 December 2017

At the 2017 Sri Lanka Shippers’ Council AGM as the outgoing chairman, I urged the Government on the need for fully liberalising the shipping sector to reap the long-term benefits for Sri Lanka.

A universal good: How increased health coverage can help beat back antimicrobial resistance

Wednesday, 13 December 2017

Ensuring all people everywhere have access to health services that are affordable, of good quality and within reach is a public health imperative.

Towards sustainable green automobile beyond 2018

Wednesday, 13 December 2017

In the National Budget proposals for the year 2018, the Government has taken positive steps to promote the electric car segment

Columnists More